2022 John Paul Barta Scholarship Recipients

The Flour Bluff Athletic Booster Club is proud to announce the 2022 recipients of the John Paul Barta Scholarship.

This scholarship is named in honor of John Paul Barta, a 2000 graduate, who was a football and baseball player for the Hornets. He was a four-year starter on the baseball team. As a Senior, in football, he was named the District’s Most Valuable Player, and he was a First-Team All-South Texas selection who also earned an All-State nod. Barta went to Wharton Junior College after graduating and enlisted in the Army in 2004. Tragically, Barta was killed while serving our country in Iraq in 2006. In addition to the John Paul Barta Memorial Scholarship, each year in June there is a high school home run derby held in his honor at Flour Bluff Baseball Field.


The recipients of this scholarship each reflect the virtues of John Paul Barta in three key areas:

  • Athletic ability and contribution to Flour Bluff Athletics
  • Character and class as demonstrated through Flour Bluff Athletics
  • Athletes that have been honorable representatives of Flour Bluff High School

Grace Vagedes
Brenna Gordon
Nash Villegas
Edward Shannon
Vishal Patel
Kylee Hutchinson
Katherine Geurin
Isabelle Flores
Lauren Fuller
Michael Lucas Ewing
Cade Dowd
Charles Cutbirth
Van Cooper
Koby Barrera
Payton Baklik


To Top